About the Agency

The Department of the Treasury serves as the central state agency, providing statewide financial services for agencies and institutions of the Commonwealth. Treasury has six service area divisions: General Management, Debt Management, Risk Management, Operations, Cash Management and Investments and Unclaimed Property. The State Treasurer reports directly to the Secretary of Finance, which is a cabinet position reporting directly to the Governor. Treasury is responsible for the investment of state monies, issuance and management of the short and long-term financing needs of the Commonwealth, administration of the state’s unclaimed property and escheat laws, administration of insurance and risk management programs, management of the state’s banking network, development of cash management programs, and check issuance services.

Locations & Additional Contacts

Main Location

The James Monroe Building
101 North 14th Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Services & Resources Offered